Skip to content

Comparison

Great American vs GUARD for design professionals

Written and reviewed by Michael LaBarbera, licensed insurance agent

Great American and GUARD both offer design professional liability quoted through our agency, and the differences that matter are in eligibility, limits and policy features rather than a ranking. On eligibility (revenue and firm types), Great American states Architects, engineers and design consultants, including environmental consultants; billings up to $25 million, and GUARD states Architects and engineers professional liability; targeted classes include architects, civil, electrical, HVAC, mechanical, lighting and communication engineers, land and aerial surveyors, landscape architects and professional planners.

DESIGN PROFESSIONAL LIABILITYG-001INSURANCE / REFERENCE SHEET

What are the key facts?

Key facts and sources
Great American — Architects, engineers and design consultants, including environmental consultants; billings up to $25 million.[great-american-158]
GUARD — Architects and engineers professional liability; targeted classes include architects, civil, electrical, HVAC, mechanical, lighting and communication engineers, land and aerial surveyors, landscape architects and professional planners.[guard-60]
Great American — $250,000 per claim/$250,000 aggregate to $5 million per claim/$5 million aggregate.[great-american-158]
GUARD — Up to $5 million per claim.[guard-60]
Great American — $0 deductible option for qualified small firms; aggregate deductible option for most firms. Early-resolution credits: 75% within one year or 50% within three years (only higher credit applies).[great-american-158]
GUARD — Deductibles starting at $2,500.[guard-60]

Eligibility (revenue and firm types): Great American vs GUARD

On eligibility (revenue and firm types), Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Architects, engineers and design consultants, including environmental consultants; billings up to $25 million; GUARD: Architects and engineers professional liability; targeted classes include architects, civil, electrical, HVAC, mechanical, lighting and communication engineers, land and aerial surveyors, landscape architects and professional planners.

Limits available: Great American vs GUARD

On limits available, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: $250,000 per claim/$250,000 aggregate to $5 million per claim/$5 million aggregate; GUARD: Up to $5 million per claim.

Deductibles / credits / options: Great American vs GUARD

On deductibles / credits / options, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: $0 deductible option for qualified small firms; aggregate deductible option for most firms; Early-resolution credits: 75% within one year or 50% within three years (only higher credit applies); GUARD: Deductibles starting at $2,500.

Policy form: Great American vs GUARD

On policy form, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Claims made and reported; GUARD: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Consent-to-settle / hammer clause: Great American vs GUARD

On consent-to-settle / hammer clause, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: No hammer clause; insured consent required to settle a claim; GUARD: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Pre-claim assistance: Great American vs GUARD

On pre-claim assistance, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Pre-claims assistance included; GUARD: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Disciplinary proceeding defense: Great American vs GUARD

On disciplinary proceeding defense, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed; GUARD: Sublimit up to $35,000 in response to regulatory/administrative action or disciplinary proceedings.

Extended reporting period (automatic / optional): Great American vs GUARD

On extended reporting period (automatic / optional), Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed; GUARD: Extended reporting period options up to five years available.

Network intrusion (third-party): Great American vs GUARD

On network intrusion (third-party), Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed; GUARD: Liability components include computer network security and privacy.

Pollution incident: Great American vs GUARD

On pollution incident, Great American versus GUARD reads as follows — Great American: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed; GUARD: Liability components include environmental and contractors pollution.

How to use this comparison

Every Great American and GUARD value on this page comes from that carrier's own published product material, linked in the table below. For a Great American or GUARD quote, policy wording, endorsements and underwriting decide what your firm is actually offered. We quote Great American and GUARD side by side from one application and show you whether either declined and why.

Frequently asked questions

How do Great American and GUARD compare on eligibility (revenue and firm types)?

Per their published material, Great American states Architects, engineers and design consultants, including environmental consultants; billings up to $25 million, while GUARD states Architects and engineers professional liability; targeted classes include architects, civil, electrical, HVAC, mechanical, lighting and communication engineers, land and aerial surveyors, landscape architects and professional planners.

How do Great American and GUARD compare on limits available?

Per their published material, Great American states $250,000 per claim/$250,000 aggregate to $5 million per claim/$5 million aggregate, while GUARD states Up to $5 million per claim.

How do Great American and GUARD compare on deductibles / credits / options?

Per their published material, Great American states $0 deductible option for qualified small firms; aggregate deductible option for most firms; Early-resolution credits: 75% within one year or 50% within three years (only higher credit applies), while GUARD states Deductibles starting at $2,500.

Is Great American or GUARD better for my firm?

We do not rank Great American against GUARD; the right fit between them depends on your disciplines, revenue, contracts and claims history, and we quote both from one application.

All buyer questions

What are the sources?

Policy forms and endorsements control; this is not legal advice or a coverage decision.

Carrier names identify markets quoted through our agency. Availability depends on underwriting, state, policy wording and endorsements; this is not an offer of coverage.

More insurance questions and answers

Request a quote

Get quotes from multiple carriers with one application

Start with your contact details — it takes about four minutes. A licensed agent reviews your firm and emails your options, usually within one business day.

Document editions are cited for each confirmed feature. Older guides are not confirmation of current quote terms; issued policy wording and endorsements control. Optional benefits are not automatically included.

Policy features quoted through our agency — not prices
FeatureGreat AmericanGUARD
Eligibility (revenue and firm types)Architects, engineers and design consultants, including environmental consultants; billings up to $25 million.Source · 2026-10Architects and engineers professional liability; targeted classes include architects, civil, electrical, HVAC, mechanical, lighting and communication engineers, land and aerial surveyors, landscape architects and professional planners.Source · 2021-04
Limits available$250,000 per claim/$250,000 aggregate to $5 million per claim/$5 million aggregate.Source · 2026-10Up to $5 million per claim.Source · 2021-04
Deductibles / credits / options$0 deductible option for qualified small firms; aggregate deductible option for most firms. Early-resolution credits: 75% within one year or 50% within three years (only higher credit applies).Source · 2026-10Deductibles starting at $2,500.Source · 2021-04
Policy formClaims made and reported.Source · 2023-01Ask us
Defense inside/outside limitsAsk usAsk us
First-dollar defense optionAsk usAsk us
Consent-to-settle / hammer clauseNo hammer clause; insured consent required to settle a claim.Source · 2026-10Ask us
Pre-claim assistancePre-claims assistance included.Source · 2026-10Ask us
Rectification / design-error expenseAsk usAsk us
Disciplinary proceeding defenseAsk usSublimit up to $35,000 in response to regulatory/administrative action or disciplinary proceedings.Source · 2021-04
Subpoena assistanceAsk usAsk us
ADA/FHA/OSHA proceeding reimbursementAsk usAsk us
Extended reporting period (automatic / optional)Ask usExtended reporting period options up to five years available.Source · 2021-04
Network intrusion (third-party)Ask usLiability components include computer network security and privacy.Source · 2021-04
Pollution incidentAsk usLiability components include environmental and contractors pollution.Source · 2021-04
States not availableAsk usAsk us