Skip to content

Comparison

The Hartford vs Hiscox for design professionals

Written and reviewed by Michael LaBarbera, licensed insurance agent

The Hartford and Hiscox both offer design professional liability quoted through our agency, and the differences that matter are in eligibility, limits and policy features rather than a ranking. On eligibility (revenue and firm types), The Hartford states Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty); No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed; Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible, and Hiscox states Licensed architects, engineers and other design professionals; construction/project managers, contractors, interior designers, land surveyors, landscape architects, custom manufacturers and real estate developers.

DESIGN PROFESSIONAL LIABILITYG-001INSURANCE / REFERENCE SHEET

What are the key facts?

Key facts and sources
The Hartford — Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty). No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed. Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible.[hartford-97]
Hiscox — Licensed architects, engineers and other design professionals; construction/project managers, contractors, interior designers, land surveyors, landscape architects, custom manufacturers and real estate developers.[hiscox-90]
The Hartford — $250K–$2M annual limits[hartford-97]
Hiscox — Limits capacity up to $10M on a primary or excess basis.[hiscox-90]
The Hartford — $0–$10K deductible[hartford-97]
Hiscox — Deductible credit included in base form; aggregate deductible option available.[hiscox-90]
The Hartford — Damages-only first-dollar-defense endorsement available[hartford-97]
Hiscox — First-dollar defense available as an optional cost-of-defense feature.[hiscox-90]

Eligibility (revenue and firm types): The Hartford vs Hiscox

On eligibility (revenue and firm types), The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty); No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed; Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible; Hiscox: Licensed architects, engineers and other design professionals; construction/project managers, contractors, interior designers, land surveyors, landscape architects, custom manufacturers and real estate developers.

Limits available: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On limits available, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: $250K–$2M annual limits; Hiscox: Limits capacity up to $10M on a primary or excess basis.

Deductibles / credits / options: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On deductibles / credits / options, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: $0–$10K deductible; Hiscox: Deductible credit included in base form; aggregate deductible option available.

Policy form: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On policy form, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Claims-made, standalone; Hiscox: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Defense inside/outside limits: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On defense inside/outside limits, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Defense inside limits; Hiscox: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

First-dollar defense option: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On first-dollar defense option, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Damages-only first-dollar-defense endorsement available; Hiscox: First-dollar defense available as an optional cost-of-defense feature.

Consent-to-settle / hammer clause: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On consent-to-settle / hammer clause, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: No hammer clause; Hiscox: 2017 US Hiscox PRO guide: 50/50 hammer clause built into the base form.

Pre-claim assistance: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On pre-claim assistance, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Included; unlimited; Hiscox: Up to $50,000 in pre-claim assistance, outside limits.

Rectification / design-error expense: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On rectification / design-error expense, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Rectification expense for design errors; Hiscox: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Disciplinary proceeding defense: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On disciplinary proceeding defense, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Defense up to $25K; Hiscox: 2017 US Hiscox PRO guide: Licensing-proceeding defense sublimit included in the base form, outside limits.

Subpoena assistance: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On subpoena assistance, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Assistance up to $100K; Hiscox: 2017 US Hiscox PRO guide: Subpoena-assistance sublimit included in the base form, outside limits.

ADA/FHA/OSHA proceeding reimbursement: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On ada/fha/osha proceeding reimbursement, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Reimbursement up to $25K; Hiscox: 2017 US Hiscox PRO guide: Up to $25,000 for FHA/OSHA/ADA regulatory defense and response costs, outside limits.

Extended reporting period (automatic / optional): The Hartford vs Hiscox

On extended reporting period (automatic / optional), The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Automatic 60-day extended reporting period; Hiscox: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Network intrusion (third-party): The Hartford vs Hiscox

On network intrusion (third-party), The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Third-party liability tied to professional services; Hiscox: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Pollution incident: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On pollution incident, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Incident coverage tied to professional services; Hiscox: Pollution liability arising from performance of professional services; mold explicitly covered with sublimit or full limits.

States not available: The Hartford vs Hiscox

On states not available, The Hartford versus Hiscox reads as follows — The Hartford: Vermont; Hiscox: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

How to use this comparison

Every The Hartford and Hiscox value on this page comes from that carrier's own published product material, linked in the table below. For a The Hartford or Hiscox quote, policy wording, endorsements and underwriting decide what your firm is actually offered. We quote The Hartford and Hiscox side by side from one application and show you whether either declined and why.

Frequently asked questions

How do The Hartford and Hiscox compare on eligibility (revenue and firm types)?

Per their published material, The Hartford states Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty); No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed; Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible, while Hiscox states Licensed architects, engineers and other design professionals; construction/project managers, contractors, interior designers, land surveyors, landscape architects, custom manufacturers and real estate developers.

How do The Hartford and Hiscox compare on limits available?

Per their published material, The Hartford states $250K–$2M annual limits, while Hiscox states Limits capacity up to $10M on a primary or excess basis.

How do The Hartford and Hiscox compare on deductibles / credits / options?

Per their published material, The Hartford states $0–$10K deductible, while Hiscox states Deductible credit included in base form; aggregate deductible option available.

How do The Hartford and Hiscox compare on first-dollar defense option?

Per their published material, The Hartford states Damages-only first-dollar-defense endorsement available, while Hiscox states First-dollar defense available as an optional cost-of-defense feature.

Is The Hartford or Hiscox better for my firm?

We do not rank The Hartford against Hiscox; the right fit between them depends on your disciplines, revenue, contracts and claims history, and we quote both from one application.

All buyer questions

What are the sources?

Policy forms and endorsements control; this is not legal advice or a coverage decision.

Carrier names identify markets quoted through our agency. Availability depends on underwriting, state, policy wording and endorsements; this is not an offer of coverage.

More insurance questions and answers

Request a quote

Get quotes from multiple carriers with one application

Start with your contact details — it takes about four minutes. A licensed agent reviews your firm and emails your options, usually within one business day.

Document editions are cited for each confirmed feature. Older guides are not confirmation of current quote terms; issued policy wording and endorsements control. Optional benefits are not automatically included.

Policy features quoted through our agency — not prices
FeatureThe Hartford — Small Business design professional liabilityHiscox
Eligibility (revenue and firm types)Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty). No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed. Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible.Source · 2026-07Licensed architects, engineers and other design professionals; construction/project managers, contractors, interior designers, land surveyors, landscape architects, custom manufacturers and real estate developers.Source · 2019-01
Limits available$250K–$2M annual limitsSource · 2026-07Limits capacity up to $10M on a primary or excess basis.Source · 2019-01
Deductibles / credits / options$0–$10K deductibleSource · 2026-07Deductible credit included in base form; aggregate deductible option available.Source · 2019-01
Policy formClaims-made, standaloneSource · 2026-07Ask us
Defense inside/outside limitsDefense inside limitsSource · 2026-07Ask us
First-dollar defense optionDamages-only first-dollar-defense endorsement availableSource · 2026-07First-dollar defense available as an optional cost-of-defense feature.Source · 2019-01
Consent-to-settle / hammer clauseNo hammer clauseSource · 2026-072017 US Hiscox PRO guide: 50/50 hammer clause built into the base form.Source · 2017-03
Pre-claim assistanceIncluded; unlimitedSource · 2026-07Up to $50,000 in pre-claim assistance, outside limits.Source · 2019-01
Rectification / design-error expenseRectification expense for design errorsSource · 2026-07Ask us
Disciplinary proceeding defenseDefense up to $25KSource · 2026-072017 US Hiscox PRO guide: Licensing-proceeding defense sublimit included in the base form, outside limits.Source · 2017-03
Subpoena assistanceAssistance up to $100KSource · 2026-072017 US Hiscox PRO guide: Subpoena-assistance sublimit included in the base form, outside limits.Source · 2017-03
ADA/FHA/OSHA proceeding reimbursementReimbursement up to $25KSource · 2026-072017 US Hiscox PRO guide: Up to $25,000 for FHA/OSHA/ADA regulatory defense and response costs, outside limits.Source · 2017-03
Extended reporting period (automatic / optional)Automatic 60-day extended reporting periodSource · 2026-07Ask us
Network intrusion (third-party)Third-party liability tied to professional servicesSource · 2026-07Ask us
Pollution incidentIncident coverage tied to professional servicesSource · 2026-07Pollution liability arising from performance of professional services; mold explicitly covered with sublimit or full limits.Source · 2019-01
States not availableVermontSource · 2026-07Ask us

The Hartford — Small Business design professional liability

Design Professional Liability — The Hartford · Source edition: 2026-07.