Skip to content

Comparison

The Hartford vs Travelers for design professionals

Written and reviewed by Michael LaBarbera, licensed insurance agent

The Hartford and Travelers both offer design professional liability quoted through our agency, and the differences that matter are in eligibility, limits and policy features rather than a ranking. On eligibility (revenue and firm types), The Hartford states Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty); No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed; Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible, and Travelers states Architects, engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, construction managers and technical consultants; firms of all sizes.

DESIGN PROFESSIONAL LIABILITYG-001INSURANCE / REFERENCE SHEET

What are the key facts?

Key facts and sources
The Hartford — Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty). No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed. Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible.[hartford-97]
Travelers — Architects, engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, construction managers and technical consultants; firms of all sizes.[travelers-98]
The Hartford — $0–$10K deductible[hartford-97]
Travelers — Claims guide: agreeing to claim resolution by mediation reduces the deductible obligation by 50%, up to a $25,000 reduction.[travelers-94]
The Hartford — Included; unlimited[hartford-97]
Travelers — Professional Liability 2.0 includes pre-claim costs.[travelers-98]
The Hartford — Rectification expense for design errors[hartford-97]
Travelers — Professional Liability 2.0 includes rectification costs.[travelers-98]

Eligibility (revenue and firm types): The Hartford vs Travelers

On eligibility (revenue and firm types), The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty); No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed; Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible; Travelers: Architects, engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, construction managers and technical consultants; firms of all sizes.

Limits available: The Hartford vs Travelers

On limits available, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: $250K–$2M annual limits; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Deductibles / credits / options: The Hartford vs Travelers

On deductibles / credits / options, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: $0–$10K deductible; Travelers: Claims guide: agreeing to claim resolution by mediation reduces the deductible obligation by 50%, up to a $25,000 reduction.

Policy form: The Hartford vs Travelers

On policy form, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Claims-made, standalone; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Defense inside/outside limits: The Hartford vs Travelers

On defense inside/outside limits, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Defense inside limits; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

First-dollar defense option: The Hartford vs Travelers

On first-dollar defense option, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Damages-only first-dollar-defense endorsement available; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Consent-to-settle / hammer clause: The Hartford vs Travelers

On consent-to-settle / hammer clause, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: No hammer clause; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Pre-claim assistance: The Hartford vs Travelers

On pre-claim assistance, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Included; unlimited; Travelers: Professional Liability 2.0 includes pre-claim costs.

Rectification / design-error expense: The Hartford vs Travelers

On rectification / design-error expense, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Rectification expense for design errors; Travelers: Professional Liability 2.0 includes rectification costs.

Disciplinary proceeding defense: The Hartford vs Travelers

On disciplinary proceeding defense, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Defense up to $25K; Travelers: 2020 claims guide (predates Professional Liability 2.0): additional benefits for qualifying disciplinary proceedings; current wording and limits require confirmation.

Subpoena assistance: The Hartford vs Travelers

On subpoena assistance, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Assistance up to $100K; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

ADA/FHA/OSHA proceeding reimbursement: The Hartford vs Travelers

On ada/fha/osha proceeding reimbursement, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Reimbursement up to $25K; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Extended reporting period (automatic / optional): The Hartford vs Travelers

On extended reporting period (automatic / optional), The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Automatic 60-day extended reporting period; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

Network intrusion (third-party): The Hartford vs Travelers

On network intrusion (third-party), The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Third-party liability tied to professional services; Travelers: Professional Liability 2.0 includes network and information security offense coverage.

Pollution incident: The Hartford vs Travelers

On pollution incident, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Incident coverage tied to professional services; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

States not available: The Hartford vs Travelers

On states not available, The Hartford versus Travelers reads as follows — The Hartford: Vermont; Travelers: Ask us — not stated in the source we reviewed.

How to use this comparison

Every The Hartford and Travelers value on this page comes from that carrier's own published product material, linked in the table below. For a The Hartford or Travelers quote, policy wording, endorsements and underwriting decide what your firm is actually offered. We quote The Hartford and Travelers side by side from one application and show you whether either declined and why.

Frequently asked questions

How do The Hartford and Travelers compare on eligibility (revenue and firm types)?

Per their published material, The Hartford states Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty); No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed; Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible, while Travelers states Architects, engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, construction managers and technical consultants; firms of all sizes.

How do The Hartford and Travelers compare on deductibles / credits / options?

Per their published material, The Hartford states $0–$10K deductible, while Travelers states Claims guide: agreeing to claim resolution by mediation reduces the deductible obligation by 50%, up to a $25,000 reduction.

How do The Hartford and Travelers compare on pre-claim assistance?

Per their published material, The Hartford states Included; unlimited, while Travelers states Professional Liability 2.0 includes pre-claim costs.

How do The Hartford and Travelers compare on rectification / design-error expense?

Per their published material, The Hartford states Rectification expense for design errors, while Travelers states Professional Liability 2.0 includes rectification costs.

Is The Hartford or Travelers better for my firm?

We do not rank The Hartford against Travelers; the right fit between them depends on your disciplines, revenue, contracts and claims history, and we quote both from one application.

All buyer questions

What are the sources?

Policy forms and endorsements control; this is not legal advice or a coverage decision.

Carrier names identify markets quoted through our agency. Availability depends on underwriting, state, policy wording and endorsements; this is not an offer of coverage.

More insurance questions and answers

Request a quote

Get quotes from multiple carriers with one application

Start with your contact details — it takes about four minutes. A licensed agent reviews your firm and emails your options, usually within one business day.

Document editions are cited for each confirmed feature. Older guides are not confirmation of current quote terms; issued policy wording and endorsements control. Optional benefits are not automatically included.

Policy features quoted through our agency — not prices
FeatureThe Hartford — Small Business design professional liabilityTravelers
Eligibility (revenue and firm types)Independent design firms; revenue up to $2M (larger firms go to Hartford Global Specialty). No construction or manufacturing services; construction administration and site visits allowed. Individuals, employees of design firms, and government agencies are not eligible.Source · 2026-07Architects, engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, construction managers and technical consultants; firms of all sizes.Source · 2026-11
Limits available$250K–$2M annual limitsSource · 2026-07Ask us
Deductibles / credits / options$0–$10K deductibleSource · 2026-07Claims guide: agreeing to claim resolution by mediation reduces the deductible obligation by 50%, up to a $25,000 reduction.Source · 2020-11
Policy formClaims-made, standaloneSource · 2026-07Ask us
Defense inside/outside limitsDefense inside limitsSource · 2026-07Ask us
First-dollar defense optionDamages-only first-dollar-defense endorsement availableSource · 2026-07Ask us
Consent-to-settle / hammer clauseNo hammer clauseSource · 2026-07Ask us
Pre-claim assistanceIncluded; unlimitedSource · 2026-07Professional Liability 2.0 includes pre-claim costs.Source · 2026-11
Rectification / design-error expenseRectification expense for design errorsSource · 2026-07Professional Liability 2.0 includes rectification costs.Source · 2026-11
Disciplinary proceeding defenseDefense up to $25KSource · 2026-072020 claims guide (predates Professional Liability 2.0): additional benefits for qualifying disciplinary proceedings; current wording and limits require confirmation.Source · 2020-11
Subpoena assistanceAssistance up to $100KSource · 2026-07Ask us
ADA/FHA/OSHA proceeding reimbursementReimbursement up to $25KSource · 2026-07Ask us
Extended reporting period (automatic / optional)Automatic 60-day extended reporting periodSource · 2026-07Ask us
Network intrusion (third-party)Third-party liability tied to professional servicesSource · 2026-07Professional Liability 2.0 includes network and information security offense coverage.Source · 2026-11
Pollution incidentIncident coverage tied to professional servicesSource · 2026-07Ask us
States not availableVermontSource · 2026-07Ask us

The Hartford — Small Business design professional liability

Design Professional Liability — The Hartford · Source edition: 2026-07.